Dundalk Municipal Civic Awards

There were fourteen worthy recipients at last week’s Dundalk Municipal District Civic Awards with Dundalk Young Ireland’s GAA Club and Jock McArdle amongst those recognised for their contributions to the local community.
The awards which took place in Louth County Hall are now in their third year and were designed to recognise all those people and groups who have made outstanding contributions to Dundalk and the North Louth area over the years. The awards are given to recipients in a wide range of backgrounds including sport, art, public service, charity and community groups. The full list of recipients who attended this year’s ceremony are listed below.
1 Dundalk Simon Community: In recognition of their longstanding work campaigning to prevent homelessness in the Dundalk area
2 Dundalk Social Service Council: In recognition of their meals on wheels service and support to elderly and vulnerable people throughout the Dundalk area
3 Eamonn Quinn: In recognition of his contribution to Louth Contemporary Music Society
4 Garry Hoey: For his outstanding achievements with the Irish Amputee Soccer Team
5 Gerry Foran: In recognition of his outstanding career as a musician, author and poet
6 Jock McArdle: In recognition of his work encouraging people to become more active and promoting tourism in Louth
7 Kilkerley Dancing Programme Committee: In recognition of their voluntary work organising social dances for the community
8 Larry Magnier (Wife Rosemary accepting award on his behalf): In recognition of his contribution to Blackrock & Louth Tidy Towns
9 The Late Micheál McKeown: Mrs Mary McKeown collecting the award. In recognition of his outstanding service to Louth Ladies GAA
10 Nicky McCourt: In recognition of his contribution to amateur musicals in Dundalk
11 Paddy McEneaney: In recognition of his contribution to music and broadcasting in county Louth
12 Peter Lawless: In recognition of his work supporting elderly and vulnerable people enabling them to live independently.
13 The Birches Alzheimer Day Care Centre: In recognition of their outstanding service to the Families of Alzheimer’s sufferers
14 Young Irelands GFC: In recognition of becoming the first Club from County Louth to win the Leinster Club Junior Football Championship

This entry was posted in Articles. Bookmark the permalink.

Comments are closed.