Erin and Sean are the big winners in local elections

Fianna Fail were the big winners in the local elections with both Erin McGreehan and Sean Kelly winning Louth County Council seats for the first time.
The national green wave didn’t quite materialise locally with only one Green Party representative getting elected on to the local authority. Marianne Butler managed to retain her seat in Dundalk South following an impressive showing which saw her elected on the first count. However, the Dundalk-Carlingford seat they had held through Mark Dearey was lost with Dearey’s replacement Eoin Ryan narrowly missing out. Sean Connolly from Tallanstown also failed to get past the winning post in the Ardee electoral area.
All 29 seats on the local authority have now been filled with Fianna Fail managing to gain an extra two seats which brings them up to seven in the newly formed council. It was also a great day for independent candidate Maeve Yore who topped the poll in Dundalk South after receiving an impressive 1701 first preference votes.
A jubilant but very tired Maeve thanked all who had voted for her and who had canvassed hard to help her retain her seat. She indicated that her excellent showing was a sign that people wanted change.
There will be two new faces on the council from the Dundalk/Carlingford electoral area following the successful campaigns from Erin McGreehan and Sean Kelly. The duo take up the seats of Peter Savage and Mark Dearey who decided not to put themselves up for re-election this time around.
There was little change in Dundalk South with all seven sitting councillors retaining their seats including Sinn Fein’s Ruairi O’Mhurchu who had been co-opted into the council following the decision of Kevin Meenan to step down in 2017. Sinn Fein’s poor performance nationally was reflected locally as well with the party dropping from ten seats to seven.
In Ardee Dolores Minogue and Colm Markey were both re-elected following the first count while there was also good news for independent candidate Hugh Conlon who won the sixth and final seat after the ninth count. It was an especially sweet victory for Hugh who agonisingly missed out last time around by just over 20 votes to Jim Tenanty.
The new council will be made up of seven Fianna Fail members, seven Sinn Fein, five Fine Gael, six independents, three labour and one from the Green Party.

This entry was posted in Articles. Bookmark the permalink.

Comments are closed.